Six Components of Wellness

What is Wellness?

According to the Miriam-Webster dictions, “wellness” is defined as:

“the quality or state of being in good health, especially as an actively sought goal <lifestyles that promote wellness>”

It sounds simple enough, yet many people struggle to achieve it.

There are many pieces to a wellness lifestyle. It’s not just about eating right, exercising, and maintaining a healthy body. There are six pieces to the wellness model, involving the mind, body, and soul. At a high level, these pieces are defined as:

Spiritual Wellness – Finding meaning in life.

Physical Wellness – Keeping the healthy and free from disease.

Emotional Wellness – Recognizing, accepting, and expressing our feelings.

Social Wellness – Relating to the people around us. Friends, family and community.

Intellectual Wellness – Continuing to learn and being open to new ideas.

Occupational Wellness – Being happy with your contribution to the world.

Ignoring any of these areas causes life to be out of balance, resulting in stress and unhappiness. A well life is one with balance.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s